Administrative Council

Tennessee Technological University

ADMINISTRATIVE COUNCILApril 9, 2003, 3 p.m. President's Conference Room

Members Present:

S. K. Ballal	Diane Ledbetter	Sue Pogue
Robert Bell	Regina Lee	Terry Rector
Peggy Bilbrey	Jeffrey Marquis	Virginia Rivers
Whewon Cho	Jessica Matson	Paul Semmes
Robert Delgado	Linda Maxwell	Sandra Terneus
Roger Dickson	Leo McGee	Jacob Thorington
Kurt Eisen	Allan Mills	Dale Wilson

Ramesh Marilyn Sarah Winningham

Garimella Musacchio Sarah willingham

Linda Giesbrecht-Bettoli Mike Nivens Matthew Zagumny

Mancil Johnson **Members Absent:**

Barry Allison
Jeff Boles
Philip Lutz
Marc Burnett
Charlene Mullins
Susan Elkins
Mike Wells
Dan Fesler
Nathan Wilds
Colleen Hays
Sam Winfree

Others Present:

Perry Smith, Barry Stein and Darlene Wiegand

Summary of Proceedings:

Approved agenda. Approved minutes of February 26, 2003, as distributed.

Approved Constitution for "National Pan-Hellenic Council" at Tech.

Approved annual reports of committees reporting to the Administrative Council as submitted.

Received report from the University Safety and Environmental Committee relative to the

air quality in buildings on campus.

Discussed problems associated with split invoicing.

Elected Dr. Allan Mills as the chairperson for the 2003-04 academic year.

Proceedings

Chairman Johnson called the meeting to order at 3 p.m.

Dr. Zagumny moved to approve the agenda of April 9, 2003, as distributed. Dr. Terneus seconded. Motion PASSED.

Motion to approve the minutes of February 26, 2003, was made by Dr. Zagumny and seconded by Dr. Terneus. Minutes were APPROVED as distributed.

A motion to approve the Constitution for the "National Pan-Hellenic Council" at Tech was made by Mr. Dickson and seconded by Ms. Winningham. The motion was PASSED.

Motion to approve the annual reports of committees reporting to the Administrative Council as submitted was made by Dr. Cho and seconded by Dr. Zagumny. All reports were APPROVED as submitted.

Dr. Nivens gave an in-depth report on the procedures and processes used for testing the air quality in campus buildings. He provided the Council with the various types of toxins and probable human reactions from exposure to these toxins. He also gave an update of buildings that have been tested for toxins and those scheduled to be tested. Motion by Dr. Cho to accept the report given by Dr. Nivens. Dr. Ballal seconded, and the motion was PASSED. (A full copy of the testing documentation provided by Dr. Nivens is on file with the minutes of the April 9 Administrative Council meeting.)

Dr. Wilson brought before the Council a list of problems associated with split invoicing. Ms. Maxwell reported that the increase in the spending limit to \$2000 should eliminate the need for split invoicing. The normal TTU purchasing policies should be followed with purchases over \$2000 being bid.

On behalf of the Nominating Committee, Dr. Cho nominated Dr. Allan Mills as the chairperson for the 2003-04 academic year. Dr. Ballal seconded. Nominations were ceased, and the Motion PASSED unanimously. The Nomination Committee consisted of Drs. Cho and Marquis, Ms. Maxwell, and Professor Johnson.Motion by Dr. Zagumny, seconded by Dr. Terneus to adjourn. The meeting ADJOURNED at 3:35 p.m.

Terri Watson, Recorder

Documents on file with minutes of meeting:

Constitution for the "National Pan-Hellenic Council" at Tech

Annual reports of committees reporting to Administrative Council

Air quality testing documentation as reported by Dr. Nivens