# Administrative Council February 21, 2007 President's Conference Room

#### **Members Present:**

Melinda Anderson Mancil Johnson Larry

Peach

Daniel Badoe Regina Lee Randy Raper Robert Bell Charlie Macke Rita Reese

Marc Burnett (sub-Ed Boucher) Jeffery Marquis Dean Richey Sheila Green Linda Maxwell Claire Stinson Gary Gunter Leo McGee Tom Timmerman Josh Hauser Dorothy Nash Mark Wilson

Paula Hinton Mike Nivens Glenn James Joseph Ojo

#### **Members Absent:**

S.K. Ballal Susan Elkins Peter Li
John Boots Craft Hayes Jack Matson
Janice Branson Craig Henderson Tyler Pannell
Rachel Burks David Huddleston Sherrie Parker
Kurt Eisen Glen Johnson James Stewart

#### **Others Present:**

Vickie Adams Rachel Rader Jann Cupp Sharon Whitney

Cole Hunt

### **Summary of Proceedings:**

Approved agenda.

Approved minutes of November 15, 2006, as distributed.

Approved Constitution for the Saxophone Association at Tennessee Tech.

Approved Constitution for League of Student Voters at Tennessee Tech.

Approved annual reports for committees reporting to the Administrative Council.

Approved proposed revisions to membership guidelines for the Institutional Review Committee for Human Subjects.

Approved proposed Discrimination Complaint Procedure at Tennessee Tech.

Approved recommendations by the Buildings and Grounds Committee.

### **Proceedings:**

A motion to approve the agenda of February 21, 2007, as distributed was made by Professor Johnson and seconded by Dr. Anderson. Motion APPROVED.

Administrative Council Page 2, February 21, 2007

Mr. Wilson moved to approve the minutes of November 15, 2006, and Dr. Earles seconded. Motion APPROVED.

A motion to approve the Constitution for the Saxophone Association at Tennessee Tech was made by Dr. McGee and seconded by Mr. Wilson. Motion APPROVED

Dr. Bell moved to approve the Constitution for League of Student Voters at Tennessee Tech, and Dr. Earles seconded. Motion APPROVED.

A motion to approve the annual reports for committees reporting to the Administrative Council as submitted by the chairs of the Faculty & Staff Traffic Court Appeals Committee, the Student Affairs Committee, and the Sports Hall of Fame Committee was made by Dr. Marquis and seconded by Mr. Wilson. Motion APPROVED.

Professor Lee moved to approve the proposed revisions to membership guidelines for the Institutional Review Committee for Human Subjects, and Dr. Green seconded. The revisions

omit a maximum membership restriction; therefore, allowing the committee to include greater

disciplinary diversity, with representatives from various departments and colleges with interests

in research involving human subjects. Motion APPROVED.

A motion to approve the proposed Discrimination Complaint Procedure was made by Mr. Wilson and seconded by Dr. Green. Motion APPROVED.

Mr. Nivens moved to approve the recommendations by the Buildings and Grounds Committee, and Mr. Wilson seconded. The recommendations prohibit smoking and other tobacco usage within twenty-five feet of any point of entry of any campus building. Motion APPROVED.

Mr. Wilson was appointed to chair a sub committee responsible for nominating a chair to serve the Administrative Council for 2007-2008. Mr. Wilson appointed Dr. Timmerman and Ms. Nash to the sub committee.

A motion to adjourn was made by Dr. Peach and seconded by Mr. Wilson. The meeting

# ADJOURNED at 3:42 p.m.

Terri Watson, Recorder

## Documents on file with minutes:

Constitution for the Saxophone Association
Constitution for League of Student Voters
Annual Report Faculty & Staff Traffic Court Appeals Committee
Annual Report Student Affairs Committee
Annual Report Sports Hall of Fame Committee
Membership Guidelines for the Inst. Review Comm. for Human Subjects
Discrimination Complaint Procedure
Buildings and Grounds Committee Recommendation