Student Affairs Committee Meeting October 5, 2021 Minutes

11:01 AM Meeting Called to Order

Katherine Williams provided a brief overview of the committee function, changes to the student organization recognition process, and introduced new committee members.

Approval of minutes dated March 30, 2021– Motion to approve by Jim Baier– Proper Second from Scott Christen.

Presentations from Student Organizations:

- L.A.R.P. discussed constitution updates regarding changes to the structure of their officers.
- **Roundnet** presented their constitution for feedback. It was recommended they add an election statement in the instance of vacancies if they occur during an officer's term in office.
- **The Bend** presented their constitution for feedback. The student organization indicated they would also like to add an election statement in the instance of vacancies during an officer's term in office.
- The Welcoming presented their constitution for feedback. It was recommended that the faculty advisor be added to social media accounts for ease of transition purposes. It was also recommended they add an election statement in the instance of vacancies if they occur during an officer's term in office.

Katherine Williams requested nominations for chairperson. Cannon Johnson volunteered for the position. Cannon was elected unanimously with none opposed.

Katherine Williams explained the Student Affairs Subcommittees and provided a brief description of the duties for each. The subcommittees were filled as follows:

Policy Subcommittee:	Student Life Subcommittee:	Student Org Subcommittee:
Chester Goad (Chair)	Kerri Demeri (Chair)	Scott Christen (Chair)
Rob Owens	Cara Sisk	Jeannie Smith
Diane Pulte	Maelybeth Young	Cannon Johnson
Kathryn Rust	Nikki Panter	Janet Coonce
Austin Wattenbarger	Tim Reese	Jim Baier
Callie Johnson	Claire Myers	Perry Johnson
Cesar Espinosa	Maggie Tweel	Addison Dorris
	Kashmoney Pride	Susan Wells

Other Such Matters:

Scott Christen proposed a change to the constitution template to include a statement about elections for vacated positions.

Members were reminded of the next Student Affairs Committee meeting on November 2, 2021.

11:46 AM Meeting Adjourned

Members Present:

James Baier, Scott Christen, Kerri Demeri, Chester Goad, Callie Johnson, Cannon Johnson, Perry Johnson, Claire Myers, Rob Owens, Nikki Panter, Kashmoney Pride, Kathryn Rust, Cara Sisk, Maggie Tweel, Austin Wattenbarger, Katherine Williams

Members Absent:

Janet Coonce, Addison Dorris, Cesar Espinosa, Diane Pulte, Ronald Mezime, Jeannie Smith, Susan Wells, Maelybeth Young

Member Substitutes:

Tim Reese for Ronald Mezime, Aaron Stewart for Addison Dorris

Guests:

Harry Ingle (The Bend), Jerry Keeton (Student Activities Coordinator), Peter Oyekola (The Bend), Austin Seroka (Roundnet), Chole Sikes (The Bend), Baylee Sinard (L.A.R.P.), Yixing Wang (The Welcoming),