Tennessee Technological University Minutes of the Sports Hall of Fame Committee Meeting

Date of Meeting: August 28, 2023

~ .

.

Time & Place: 6:30 p.m. - Eagles' Nest, Hooper Eblen Center

2023-24 Sports Hall of Fame Committee Members:

Mark Wilson, Chairman	
Ms. Leigh Ann Ray	Mr. Mike Winchester
Dr. Lance Jasitt	Ms. Shawn Monday Smith
Dr. Julie Baker	Mr. Frank Omiyale
Mr. Lamar Moore (via phone)	Dr. Robert Owens
Dr. Jeff Roberts	Ms. Debbie Panther
Ms. Stephanie Busch Warren	Dr. Susan Wells
Mr. Steve Smith	Mr. Jonathan Medley
Dr. Bedelia Russell (proxy Shanna Rodgers)	Dr. Jeff Boles
Ally Perry	Dr. Arthur Banton

SupportMike LehmanAmanda Thatcher

Mark Wilson called the meeting to order at 6:30 p.m. Introductions were made and the agenda for the evening and the minutes from the Hall of Fame Committee meeting of August 31, 2022 were unanimously accepted with a friendly amendment. The approved agenda follows:

Approval of agenda Approval of minutes of August 31, 2022, meeting Selection of Hall of Fame Inductees for 2023 Other business

The floor was opened for members to speak on behalf of this year's nominees. Each member present was provided two opportunities to speak about Hall of Fame nominees in advance of the first vote.

Mike Lehman and Amanda Thatcher tallied the ballots; Mark Wilson read the results.

There was a motion to induct the two nominees who received the greatest number of votes into the TTU Sports Hall of Fame. The motion was seconded and unanimously approved. The first two inductees into the TTU Sports Hall of Fame were:

- 1) Tristan Archer (Baseball, 2010-13)
- 2) Tim Benford (Football, 2008-11)

A motion was made to induct the third highest vote recipient. The motion was seconded and unanimously approved. The third inductee into the TTU Sports Hall of Fame was:

3) Beth Underhill (Women's Golf, 2002-06)

A motion was made to induct the next two highest vote recipients. The motion was seconded and unanimously approved. The fourth and fifth inductees into the TTU Sports Hall of Fame were:

- 4) Bruce Hatfield (Football, 1984-87)
- 5) M. Dianne Murphy (1969-present)

A motion was made to cease nominations, and it was seconded and approved. Mark Wilson reminded the committee of the Hall of Fame Banquet, which constitutes the second meeting of the Hall of Fame Committee, will be held on November 3, 2023 in the Multi-Purpose Room of the Roaden University Center. The meeting was adjourned at 7:31 p.m.