Student Financial Aid Committee February 16, 2022

Members Present

Melissa Creek Addison Dorris Allen Driggers Nicole Henniger Judy Riggsbee Frank Tittle Donna Wallis

Members Absent

Debbie Barnard Madison Harris Lori Maxwell

Guests

Cassandra Gronendyke Brandon Johnson Kristyn Ogletree Jerri Winningham

Approval of Agenda

Dr. Driggers present the agenda to the committee members. Ms. Wallis made the motion to approve and Ms. Riggsbee second the motion. Motion passed unanimously.

Approval of September 28, 2021 Minutes

Dr. Driggers presented the minutes to the committee members and minutes were approved.

Policy 1204 Institutional Scholarships Subcommittee

Dr. Driggers shared that the subcommittee members had met to review the policy and did not recommend any revisions at this time in the review process.

Institutional Scholarship Update

Dr. Diggers turned the meeting over to Dr. Johnson to share the new scholarship program for the full-time freshmen who will be entering Fall 2022. The Presidential Scholars program was launched early fall which is a guaranteed scholarship program upon admission to the university. We have offered 2,434 of the Presidential Scholars Scholarship which ranges from \$3,000 to \$5,000. This number will continue to rise. We will now be waiting for the actual yield. Dr. Johnson ask if there were any questions.

Dr. Driggers questioned whether we expected 100% of acceptance for the scholarship offers. Dr. Johnson reiterated the percentages that we expect to yield for each dollar amount—42% for \$5,000, and 60% for \$4,000 and \$3,000. All of these scholarship acceptances will not attend the University.

For the Golden Opportunity Grant that requires 55 service hours we have offered 485 with 183 accepted. We anticipate that number will be 257. Although, we had the Golden Opportunity Grant we are handling it a bit differently. The expected yield is around 53%.

Students have until April 1 to accept the awards.

This year will provide us a baseline.

Dr. Johnson ask Cassandra to provide a verbal update on the departmental scholarships. Most of the colleges are actively working on committees meeting, reviewing candidates and making awards. College staff has been instructed to prioritize new freshman awarding since this may impact the decision on whether to attend Tech or not. Some committees have moved on to awarding for returning students. Another item being worked on is to try to spend down excess funds in any scholarship account that has built up excess funds over the years for not being awarded or awarded as aggressively as they could have been for whatever reason. The Scholarship Office staff are working on identifying opportunities to increase award amounts and increase the number of awards. But, they must make sure that they are considering renewable scholarships accounts project to cover their commitments. Cassandra asked if there were any questions.

Ms. Dorris questioned if there was a deadline date for the department staff to award all scholarships.

Ms. Gronendyke responded that department staff had been requested to have all their new freshman scholarships awarded this week and all other scholarships awarded by the end of February. She expects all the scholarships will be awarded by the end of March. Information shared with students and parents is that all awarding will be completed by that time.

No action was needed since this was an information item.

Election of Chair

Dr. Driggers turned the meeting over to Ms. Creek who chaired the subcommittee for the 2022-2023 chair. She presented Dr. Driggers as the nominee for the 2022-2023 Student Financial Aid Committee chair. Ms. Wallis made the motion to approve and Ms. Dorris second the motion. Dr. Driggers is willing to serve another year as the chair of the committee and was elected unanimously.

Such Other Matters

Dr. Nicole Henniger introduced herself to the committee. She is replacing Dr. David Larimore who retired from the University and will finish his term of appointment.

With no other matters presented to the committee, Dr. Henniger made the motion to adjourn and Ms. Riggsbee second the motion. The meeting adjourned at 1:49 pm.