Staff Advisory Committee September 11, 2018

Members Present: Jill DeBord, Barbara Fenlon (vice-chair), Carrie Harris, Jerry Keeton, Kim Meredith, Sharon Stevenson (chair), Cheryl Sullivan, and Emily Vaughn

Others Present: Leslie Crickenberger, Logan McCormick, President Phil Oldham, Service pin recipients and supporters.

Chairman Stevenson called the meeting to order at 1:30 p.m. in the Multipurpose Room of the Roaden University Center. She extended a welcome to all in attendance and asked the 2018 SAC members present to introduce themselves. Upon conclusion of the introductions, Chairman Stevenson advised the first agenda item called for approval of new members to the non-faculty grievance pool. Members of the committee received the proposed changes prior to the meeting. Cheryl Sullivan motioned to approve and Jerry Keeton seconded. The motion was APPROVED. Chairman Stevenson then introduced President Oldham to address those in attendance.

Presentation of Service Pins

President Oldham advised those receiving service-pins represented a combined 645 years of service to the university. Recipients were as follows:

5 Years	10 Years	15 Years	20 Years
Tonya Ashburn	Amy Swafford	Kathleen Scott	Janet Johnson
Rebecca Violet	Diana Lalani	Olivia Newman	Phyllis Kilgore
Charlotte Austin	Barry Ferrell	Rebecca Blalock	
Donna Thorne	John Jones	Sharon Underwood	
Irene Mauk	Alan Robbins	Rosemarie Black	
Joni Gilmore	Phillip Burr	Sonya Haney	
Regina Jackson	Jerry Keeton	Christopher Kincaid	
Jennifer Dewar	Corinne Johnson	Paul Miller	
John Woodard	Melanie Mabrey	Gregory Haynes	
Greg Smith		Taylor Qualls	
Misty Brown		Brooke Fleenor	
Patricia Ely			
Fred Nichols			
Mark Hillis			
Misty Kline			

(Continued to page 2)

25 Years	30 Years	35 Years
Candace Osteen	Susan Henry	Trenda Green
Cari Williams		Phyllis Miller
Cynthia Mathis		
Billy Phillips		
James Waller		
Randal McCloud		
Ronald Romzek		

President Oldham asked all of the recipients to stand for applause. He congratulated and extended his thanks for their dedication and commitment to the University.

President's Comments

President Oldham then went on to provide points of interest for the group.

For the second academic year in a row, Tennessee Tech has awarded over 2500 degrees to its graduates. These numbers have led to greater investment support of our University. The State of Tennessee awarded 3.7 million dollars in addition to previous investment support of Tennessee Tech. For the second year in a row, Money magazine ranked Tennessee Tech as #1 public college in the state. US. News and World Report recognized TTU as one of the "Best National Universities" for the third year in a row. Our graduate with the least amount of debt in the state and have the highest starting salaries than any other university in Tennessee. Our graduates obtain the second highest median salary of any other state universities. Vanderbilt is the highest. The many construction projects on campus continue to positively progress. We have also welcome new leadership with the addition of Provost Lori Bruce and Vice President of Enrollment Management & Career Placement, Dr. Brandon Johnson. The University has been able to award faculty and staff salary increases for 8 consecutive years. An implementation team of around 40 faculty and staff have committed to working together on the strategic plan. President Oldham encouraged everyone to review the strategic plan, because we all have a role to play in its success. The strategic plan displays the essence the education gained at TTU with newly published Vision and Mission Statements.

Vision Statement: Tennessee Tech will achieve national prominence and impact though its engaged students, dedicated faculty, and career-ready graduates known for their creativity, tenacity and analytical approach to problem solving.

Mission Statement: Tennessee's technological university creates, advances, and applies knowledge to expand opportunity and economic competitiveness. As a STEM-infused, comprehensive institution, Tennessee Tech delivers enduring education, impactful research, and collaborative service.

Other Such Matters

There were no additional questions following President Oldham's updates. Chairman Stevenson thanked everyone for attending and all to stay and enjoy the refreshments provided. Cheryl Sullivan moved to adjourn the meeting. The motion was duly seconded. Meeting ADJOURNED at 1:54 p.m.

B. Logan McCormick, Recorder