## Staff Advisory Committee September 19, 2016, 10 a.m.

**Members Present:** Becky Asher, Elizabeth Clemens, Anna DeBord, Patrena Hicks, Liz Kassera (presiding), Jerry Keeton, Deborah Mayberry, Paul Miller, Lindsey Nakamoto, Valerie Nash and Toni Nelson

Others Present: Thomas Heard, President Phil Oldham, Terri Taylor

Chairman Kassera welcomed everyone to the meeting and proceeded with introductions of the 2016-2017 SAC members present. She provided that the committee represents all non-exempt employees of the University and welcomed the submission of agenda items for discussion at future meetings. Chairman Kassera introduced President Oldham to address those in attendance.

## **President's Comments**

President Oldham opened his comments with campus news, 1) recent Carnegie reclassification to doctoral research, which better reflects TTU's status; 2) *US News* just released rankings, and TTU was listed as a top tier national university, only one of two in the state to receive this ranking; 3) the University's 2015 freshman retention rate recorded a high of 79%, which reflects an increase of 9% from the previous rating. President Oldham added that the staff contributes much to the success of students and expressed his thanks to all for being ambassadors of the University.

Relative to physical transformations taking place on campus, currently Jere Whitson is undergoing renovations with reopening anticipated for early 2017. The science building is in the design phase and all is moving forward. Design is complete and groundbreaking is anticipated for the new fitness center this fall.

Implementation of the FOCUS Act is moving forward, and it is expected that the Governor will announce the TTU Board of Trustees within the next two weeks. Following confirmation by the legislature and development training, the initial meeting of the board is anticipated for April 2017.

President Oldham encouraged the sharing of information of changes for continued discussions and communications as TTU moves forward into the next generation of the history of the University.

## **Presentation of Service Pins**

President Oldham led the presentation of service pins which represented an accumulation of 920 combined years of service to the University. Recipients were as follows:

5 Years	10 Years	15 Years
Barry Bilyeu	Christina Baird	Faye Bussell
Jeff Bulakowski	Polly Burns	Robin Dixon
Sharon Dyer	Dylcia Cowan	Gayla Green
Tammie Hanchey	Troy Dickens	Linda Lee
Christina Hatley	Anna Debord	Linda McConaha
Elizabeth Honeycutt	Regina Gragg	Sheila McNeal
Susan Jobe	Helen Hedgecoth	Donald Merriman
Jeri Liebig	Michael Lambert	Patty Pasquale
Amanda Miller	Patricia Peavyhouse	Rachel Starnes
William Richards	Robert Peterson	Bobby White
Thomas Waller	Gloria Presley	Kurt Yeager
Edward Wilcox	Stephanie Stamps	
20 Years	25 Years	30 Years
Audrey Cody	Rebecca Leimer	Cordell Dowell
Linda Fisk	Debbie Pickett	Vickie Floyd
Patricia Huddleston	Tony Savage	John "Riggs" Gentry
Donald Moss	Jessie Stephenson	Betty Harris
Valerie Nash	Elizabeth Tudor	Tawnya Robinson-Moss
Charles Richardson		Sandra Pigg
Kim York		Randell Raper
		Lisa Rice
35 Years		
Connie Nichols		
Perry Melton		

Motion to adjourn was made by Ms. Asher and seconded by Ms. Nash. Meeting ADJOURNED at 10:30 a.m.

Terri Taylor, Recorder