Staff Advisory Committee Meeting September 13, 2010 Tech Pride Room

Members Present:

Kevin EdwardsTammy MartinStephanie HargisEddie MeadowsSusan Henry, ChairTheresa SmithKaye LoftisDonna Warren

Others Present:

President Bell Mike Cowan Terri Taylor

Committee chair, Ms. Susan Henry, opened the meeting and welcomed all attendees. The Staff Advisory Committee (SAC) members present introduced themselves.

President's Comments

President Bell welcomed new members of the SAC and thanked all members for serving.

The class of 2014 were welcomed to Tech at the second annual fall convocation. The freshman class of just over 1920 sets a record number of incoming students.

Tech achieved a record enrollment for Fall 2010 of over 11,000 students. President Bell thanked everyone present for the great work that made this significant increase happen. He briefly addressed problems such as parking that will be felt with the increase of students, and stated that Tennessee Tech is excited about the recent growth and associated possibilities.

On September 14, Tech will "make history" by hosting the General-Election Gubernatorial Debate featuring Republican Bill Haslam and Democrat Mike McWherter. This is the first Tennessee debate ever held outside a metropolitan area. TTU is collaborating with the Highlands/Cookeville-Putnam County Chamber of Commerce, Nashville's WTVF News Channel 5, the Tennessee League of Women Voters and The State Collaborative on Reforming Education (SCORE) to host the debate which will begin at 7 p.m. in the Wattenbarger Auditorium.

Tech was ranked among the "Top Public Universities" by *U.S.News & World Report* for 2011. This is the ninth year since 2002 Tech has received this ranking. Tennessee Tech is listed as one

of the Top 10 "Public Regional Universities" in the South, and is consistently ranked one of "America's 100 Best College Buys." The rankings reflect Tech's efforts to serve students with a primary focus on excellent academic offerings and an exceptional educational value.

The first two learning villages are up and running. Dr. Paula Hinton serves as director for the community service focused village in New Hall South, and Dr. Lenly Weathers directs the learning village community focused on environmental issues located in New Hall North. The Volpe Library Learning Assistance Commons is under renovation to incorporate technology and areas for group study. These changes are being implemented to meet and support the needs of our students, and hopefully, student retention will increase as a result of these changes.

On Tuesday, September 14, TTU will celebrate Constitution Day with a 5 p.m. guest lecture on the Role of Political Satire in Democracies. This year's Nolan Fowler Constitution Day lecturer is Danna Young. Young specializes in the study of media, politics and public opinion. The Constitution Day lecture is followed immediately by the live broadcast of the Gubernatorial Debate and a Dancing on Dixie Celebration.

Tech Ambassadors from February through September include Christy Killman, Mike Lambert, Amy Miller, Theresa Ennis, Polly Burns, Shirley Dyer, Jessica Snyder, Donna Wallis, and Sherry Binkley. Congratulations to all these fine Ambassadors.

Campus Safety is always a top priority. Many students are new to the campus and are not familiar with the campus layout. President Bell encouraged the need for caution while driving or walking on campus.

The recent Johnson Hall incident fortunately was without injury. Dr. Bell commended the University police and other campus responders for the orderly and efficient manner in which the campus responded.

Tech has adopted a new information security system by implementing a new recycling program. Maintaining the campus security and well-being is of utmost importance and that includes monitoring the disposal of paper. Secure recycling containers have been placed around campus as means of proper disposal. All will experience a period of adjustment/acclimation to the changes, but this is a necessary change for the betterment of the entire University.

Please note the deadline for open/annual enrollment transfer for the State of Tennessee group insurance program. Employees are encouraged to attend one of the informational sessions; the open enrollment period is from September 15 - October 15.

Service-Pin Presentations

President Bell led the service-pin presentation that totaled an accumulation of 970 years of service by Tech staff. Recipients were as follows:

5 Years	10 Years	15 Years
Brenda Allen	Jeff Arney	David Atkins
Edward Beason	Dixie Ashburn	Carolyn Brown (Retired)
David Davenport	Sandra Barlow	Charles Dial
Stephen Ewing	Randy Brewington	Kevin Edwards
Shilia Hale	Eva Dingwall	Brenda Gentry
Saundra Kelly	Jamie Harris	Donna Long
Pamela Kirkpatrick	Danny Hunter	Wanda Maxwell
Cale Koester	Lydia Kendall	Eddie Meadows
Janet Mansell	Mary McCaskey	Deborah Nash
Gina Mattingly	Charlene McClain	Tony Nelson
Patricia McKenzie	Mark Neely	Glenda Pharris
Peggy Medlin	Janice Savage	Phyllis Smith
Steve Merryman	Glenda Shanks	Donna Warren
Veronica Messina	Cheryl Sullivan	
Janie Morgan	Brenda Taylor	
Melissa Scott		
Tim Simpson		
Rosemary Taylor		
Joyce Tayse		
Randa Thompson		

20 Years	25 Years	30 Years
Barry Allison	Gloria Anderson	Robert Barksdale
Debbie Anderson	Linda Banks	Colleen Harris
Mary Bridges-Phillips	Kathryn Flatt	Irma Mittermeir
Emma Hammons	Carl Jackson	
Lillian Moore	Tammy Martin	35 Years
Robert Scantland	Hilda McDowell	Rosie Fox
Jessie Stephenson	Peggie Parrott	
Vicky Stockton	Pauline Ward	
Cindy Tate		
James White		

Following the awards ceremony, Ms. Henry asked if there were any other matters to be discussed. Hearing none, the meeting adjourned at 10:40 a.m.

Terri Taylor, Recorder