Staff Advisory Committee September 18, 2015 Tech Pride Room

Members Present: Becky Asher (presiding), Kevin Edwards, Lauren Graves, Patrena Hicks, Liz Kassera, Jerry Keeton, Misty Kline, Debbie Mayberry, Randal McCloud, Valerie Nash, Toni Nelson, Kathy Reynolds, Cheryl Sullivan

Others Present: Leslie Crickenberger, President Phil Oldham, Terri Taylor

Chairman Asher opened the meeting by welcoming everyone and introducing the 2015 SAC members. She then took a few minutes to review the purpose and objectives of the Staff Advisory Committee which are listed as follows: to act in an advisory capacity to the President's staff; to represent all non-exempt employees of Tennessee Technological University; to establish a line of communication between the non-exempt employees and the President as well as his staff; to promote cooperation and fellowship among non-exempt employees, and to evaluate University policies affecting non-exempt employees. Ms. Asher then introduced President Oldham to address those in attendance.

President's Comments

President Oldham commented that he is very thankful for all of the hard work that everyone puts into their respective jobs and that no positon is more important than another. He went on to say how thankful he was for everyone's attendance at the meeting and expressed his appreciation for everyone's commitment to the university. "It is the commitment of everyone on campus, from the staff to the students, which make TTU such a successful university," stated President Oldham.

President Oldham provided that now is a wonderful and beautiful time of year at Tennessee Tech, and the enthusiasm and energy of the new school year can be felt all over campus. The end results of different construction projects will add to the beauty of this campus. President Oldham reminded everyone that although the construction can be noisy at times to please keep in mind that the only thing worse than going through a renovation is not going through a renovation. There are a lot of exciting updates that have been, or are soon to be completed on campus including the upcoming naming of Oakley Hall on the September 25. Progress to the university can be seen in various areas, including Centennial Plaza, the new Café and in the Printing and Mailing Center in the University Center. These are all positive renovations to the university, and we are excited to see the final product. Another exciting report regarding campus updates, is that plans are moving forward to finalize property acquisitions and begin the final design phase for the new fitness center. Also, the science building has moved up on the list of approved state buildings, and all looks promising for renovations to begin in 2016 for this major project. President Oldham thanked everyone again for their patience and support throughout the process of restorations around campus.

Tennessee Tech has once again raised the bar, by improving on both graduation percentages and retention rates, as well as bringing in a very talented new freshman class. Although this new freshman class may be smaller than in the past, they are a very intelligent young group as they hold the highest average ACT score that TTU has ever posted, coming in at 24.2. The university has seen improved graduation rates to 53%, and TTU has just been named the university with the second highest starting salary upon graduation in Tennessee, following only behind Vanderbilt. This new accolade proves that Tennessee Tech is in great company and continues to create value for not only the students of the university, but for their families as well.

Non-Faculty Grievance Pool

The non-faculty grievance pool was presented before the committee for approval. Ms. Nash moved approval and Ms. Kassera seconded. The motion was APPROVED.

Staff Advisory Committee Page 2, September 18, 2015

Presentation of Service Pins

President Oldham led the presentation of service-pins which represented an accumulation of 825 combined years of service to the university. Recipients were as follows:

5 years	15 years	25 years
Justin Bronson	Jeffery Arney	Deborah Anderson
Justin Childers	Dixie Ashburn	Barry Allison
Anthony Hayes	Mary Atkins	Libby Bridges-Phillips
Michelle Holm	Sandra Barlow	Emma Hammons
Linda Kreis	Randy Brewington	Robert Scantland
Virginia Lewis	Eva Dingwall	Cindy Tate
Kim Meredith	Bobby Hunter	
Artie Montgomery	Danny Hunter	30 years
Jessica Morgan	Mary Ann McCaskey	Gloria Anderson
Jefferey Randolph	Charlene McClain	Kathryn Flatt
Sandra Stanton	Mark Neely	Carl Jackson
Jacquelyne Wilson	Glenda Shanks	Hilda McDowell
	Cheryl Sullivan	Rob Reab
10 years		Pauline Reyna
Melissa Bilbrey	20 years	
Stephen Ewing	Kevin Edwards	35 years
Shilia Hale	Brenda Gentry	Robert Barksdale
Pamela Kirkpatrick	Debbie Holm	Colleen Harris
Janet Mansell	Phyllis Smith	
Peggy Medlin	Wanda Maxwell	
Timothy Simpson		

Motion to adjourn was made by Ms. Hicks and was duly seconded. Meeting ADJOURNED at 10:25 a.m.

Terri Taylor, Recorder