Information Technology Committee

Meeting Minutes September 19, 2013 Clement Hall Room 119

Opening

The regular meeting of the Information Technology Committee was called to order at 3:00pm on September 19, 2013, in Clement Hall Room 119 by Chairperson Doug Bates.

Attendees

Present

Dr. Carl Owens Mr. Reid Christenberry Dr. Mark Stephens Dr. Annette Littrell Dr. Glenn James Mr. Rick Cumby Dr. Doug Bates Dr. Doug Talbert Ms. Samantha Blanton Mr. Josh Edmonds Mr. Ken Brown Dr. Brian Huguenard Absent Dr. Debbie Barnard Dr. Curtis Armstrong Mr. Jeff Young Dr. Scott Northrup Ms. Tammy Cobb Dr. Ken Currie Ms. Ann Hellman **Resource (Non-Voting)** Ms. Stacy Plant for Dr. Mike Allen Jerry Boyd

Mr. John W. Smith

Dr. Paul Semmes

Dr. Dennis Hood

Mr. David Willis

Approval of Agenda

The agenda was unanimously approved as distributed.

Approval of Minutes

There is one correction to the minutes of the previous meeting (April 25, 2013): Dr. Debbie Barnard is listed as both present and absent; she was absent. After the correction, motion to accept made by Dr. Doug Talbert; seconded by Dr. Carl Owens. Motion carried.

Proposed Changes in the Charter

Discussion was held regarding changes in the Information Technology Committee charter. There are some title changes to be made (such as changing Associate Vice President to CIO, and adding the CISO as an ex-officio member). Additional changes

include the addition of a Student Advisory subcommittee. This subcommittee will include the two students who currently serve as regular members of the committee. Nominations will be accepted from the deans of each respective college, from the SGA, and open applications will also be accepted. The committee will review the applications and select 2 from each college, striving for a total of 12 members (including the 2 regular members from the committee), with a mix of 2 graduate and 10 undergraduate students. The proposed new charter will be distributed one week prior to the next meeting.

Election of Subcommittees

The subcommittees appointed last February were recommended to stand for the coming year. Additional members were appointed as needed. The current subcommittees are:

Academic subcommittee: Mark Stephens, Ann Hellman, Brian Huguenard, and Carl Owens

Administrative subcommittee: John Smith, Jeff Young, and Josh Edmonds

Strategic planning subcommittee: Reid Christenberry, Doug Bates, Mark Stephens, Josh Edmonds, Ken Brown, Carl Owens, and John Smith, with Annette Littrell as the resource person for the subcommittee.

Strategic Planning for IT (handout)

CIO Reid Christenberry distributed a handout for the "Four-Phase Continuous Approach to IT Strategic Planning." After review of the handout, he discussed bringing in a facilitator for this who will work with the Strategic Planning subcommittee, with a goal to begin in October.

Enterprise Security Program Initiative (handout)

Two policies were distributed by the CISO Deb Zsigalov: Enterprise Information Security Program, and Password Management Policy. The first is establishing a security program here on campus. Entities involved with the program's initiatives are the CISO, ITC, CIO, legal council, administrative council, and university assembly. A motion to approve was made by Dr. Paul Semmes, and seconded by Dr. Carl Owens. Motion carried. The second policy for password management was discussed, with committee members seeking clarification from the CISO regarding components of the policy. After this discussion, John Smith made the motion to approve this policy, and Tammy Cobb seconded it. The motion carried, with 1 opposed.

Brief Reports: Major Changes/Updates

Brief mention was made of current ITS initiatives, including continuation of the wireless saturation project, email migration to Office365, firewall updates, TTU mobile app, Degreeworks, Sharepoint, BDMS, and the Learning Commons.

Such Other Matters

Dr. Doug Talbert proposed that the ITC initiate an effort to understand the dichotomy of concerns about the policy of least privilege, perhaps through an ad hoc committee. Discussion from members followed. Dr. Talbert agreed to serve on the committee, along with Deb Zsigalov and Carl Owens.

Adjournment

Meeting was adjourned at 4:35pm by Chairperson Doug Bates. The next general meeting will be at 3:00pm on November 14, 2013, in CH119.

Minutes submitted by: Annette Littrell