MINUTES

Graduate Studies Executive Committee Tuesday, February 1, 2022 at 3:00 p.m. Provost's Conference Room, Derryberry Hall, Room 200 and virtually through Teams

Members Present

Dr. Burduck – Chair Dr. Sharon Holderman (non-voting) Dr. Christy Killman for Dr. Phillips

Ms. Taylor Anderson Dr. Samantha Hutson Dr. Darron Smith
Dr. Alice Camuti Dr. Barbara Jared Dr. Jeremy Wendt
Dr. Dan Combs Dr. Hayden Mattingly Ms. Hannah Willis

Dr. William Eberle Dr. Allan Mills Dr. Ashley Akenson for Dr. Zagumny

Ms. Ciera Farris Dr. Joseph Ojo Dr. Mark Stephens – Executive Officer

Dr. Mike Gotcher Dr. Thomas Payne

Dr. Kimberly Hanna Dr. Julie Pharr

Members Absent

Dr. Steve Isbell Ms. Kate Nicewicz Dr. John Zhu

Dr. Tony Michael Dr. Bedelia Russell (non-voting) Ms. Madison Harris

Other Attendees

REDACTED FOR CONFIDENTIALITY

1. Approval of the agenda.

Motion to approve the agenda: Dr. Killman

Seconded by: Dr. Jared

Comments/Amendments: None.

The Committee voted and the motion was: Approved by: All; Opposed by: None.

2. Approval of the minutes from the November 2, 2021 meeting

Motion to approve the minutes: Dr. Jared

Seconded by: Dr. Mills

Comments/Amendments: None.

The Committee voted and the motion was: Approved by: All; Opposed by: None.

3. Reinstatement request for EXPW student.

Motion to approve: Dr. Killman Seconded by: Dr. Gotcher

| Comments/Amendments: | stated that he takes |
|----------------------|---|
| responsibility | explained that he received a medical diagnosis. |
| stated he | has the edTPA to complete and the research methods class. |
| left the roor | m. |

Dr. Burduck stated the request was denied by all.

Redacted conversation due to sensitivity of the subject.

The Committee voted and the motion was: Approved by: All; Opposed by: None.

4. Request from Whitson-Hester School of Nursing to add a post-graduate certificate for Psychiatric Mental Health Nurse Practitioner concentration (MSN).

Motion to approve: Dr. Jared Seconded by: Dr. Gotcher

Comments/Amendments: Dr. Jared stated the Psychiatric Mental Health Practitioner concentration started in fall 2021 and there has been interest from family nurse practitioners to sit for certification. All of the courses are developed. Dr. Jared stated the students would have to take 23 hours of Psychiatric Mental Health content.

The Committee voted and the motion was: Approved by: All; Opposed by: None.

5. Request from Whitson-Hester School of Nursing to change the DNP concentration from Executive Leadership to Nursing Healthcare Leadership.

Motion to approve: Dr. Jared Seconded by: Dr. Eberle

Comments/Amendments: Dr. Jared stated this is one of six concentrations and the numbers were down in Executive Leadership. After some research, nurses were seeing Executive Leadership as upper management. The new name, Nursing Healthcare Leadership, will bring more interest. Dr. Jared stated it has been through the joint DNP meeting with ETSU.

The Committee voted and the motion was: Approved by: All; Opposed by: None.

6. Request from Whitson-Hester School of Nursing to change Nursing Healthcare Leadership (formerly Executive Leadership) admission criteria.

Motion to approve: Dr. Jared Seconded by: Dr. Killman

Comments/Amendments: Dr. Jared stated the admissions criteria limits the application pool to students that have a Master of Science in Nursing. Without this limitation, students with a broader background can be admitted. Dr. Jared stated expanding the criteria will make the program more competitive.

The Committee voted and the motion was: Approved by: All; Opposed by: None.

7. Request from the Department of Computer Science to revise wording on Fast Track and Admissions.

Motion to approve: Dr. Jared Seconded by: Dr. Eberle

Comments/Amendments: Dr. Eberle stated currently undergraduates must have a graduate researcher to work with. Graduate researcher needs to be removed.

Dr. Eberle stated that in the admissions section, it states students must have a degree in civil engineering. Civil engineering needs to be changed to computer science.

The Committee voted and the motion was: Approved by: All; Opposed by: None.

8. Request from the Department of Computer Science to change course description and prerequisites for CSC 6400.

Motion to approve: Dr. Gotcher

Seconded by: Dr. Eberle

Comments/Amendments: Dr. Eberle stated when CSC 6400 was updated last fall the prerequisites did not get changed. The prerequisites need to be changed to CSC 4400 or CSC 5400.

The Committee voted and the motion was: Approved by: All; Opposed by: None.

9. Request from the Department of Mechanical Engineering to add new course ME 6920.

Motion to approve: Dr. Eberle Seconded by: Dr. Gotcher

Comments/Amendments: Dr. Eberle stated ME 6920: Security of Networked Control Systems is a new 6000 level course.

The Committee voted and the motion was: Approved by: All; Opposed by: None

10. Request from the Department of Mechanical Engineering to revise GPA requirement for MSME Fast Track program.

Motion to approve: Dr. Eberle Seconded by: Dr. Gotcher

Comments/Amendments: Dr. Eberle stated Mechanical Engineering currently has a GPA of 3.5 to be admitted to the Fast Track program. To align with other departments in the college, the GPA needs to be changed to 3.25.

The Committee voted and the motion was: Approved by: All; Opposed by: None

- 11. Informational Items: Dr. Eberle explained that within the College of Engineering it is hard to catch when graduate assistants enroll for more than 15 hours. Dr. Combs asked if 15 hours are all that are allotted. Dr. Camuti explained that the 15 hours over a year must be a department rule. Dr. Combs explained how the College of Arts and Sciences does not have the limit of 15 hours over a year.
- 12. Other Matters: None.
- 13. Adjourn

Motion to approve: Dr. Jared Seconded by: Dr. Eberle

Comments/Amendments: None.

The Committee voted and the motion was: Approved by: All; Opposed by: None.

Submitted by:

College of Graduate Studies