

The SGA Senate

Spring 2025 Session

Regular Meeting on February 24th, 2025

The Senate of the Student Government Association of Tennessee Technological University met on February 24th, 2025, at 7:35 PM in the RUC Multipurpose Room. Speaker of the Senate Harrison Simpson was present and presiding.

Speaker Simpson led the Senate in reciting the Pledge of Allegiance and in observing a Moment of Silence. Subsequently, the roll was called, and a quorum was established.

The minutes from the previous meeting were then declared read and approved.

The agenda attached as Appendix A, as four times amended, was then adopted as the orders of the day.

Treasurer Bare presented the S.O.L.O. Funding Committee's recommendation for the Student Members of the American Chemical Society (SMACS) application. A representative of SMACS was invited to speak on their organization's application. After a period of discussion, the motion to approve SMACS' application passed with a vote of 29 members voting aye, 1 member voting no, and 0 members abstaining.

Dr. Mustafa Rajabali, Professor of Physics and President of the Faculty Senate, presented to the Senate concerning the role and function of the Faculty Senate and elucidated potential areas of cooperation between SGA and the Faculty Senate.

Ms. Claire Myers, Student Trustee on the Tennessee Tech Board of Trustees, presented to the Senate concerning the work of the Board of Trustees at their last meeting and discussing their recent meeting that occurred on Thursday.

As there were no other S.O.L.O. Applications to be considered, the Chairs, Vice Chairs, or Secretaries of the Academic Affairs, Campus Outreach, Student Life, University Infrastructure and S.O.L.O. Funding committees delivered a summary of their respective reports. The Secretary of the Commission for Nominations also delivered a summary of their report. All reports were placed on file.

Chief of Staff Skelton, Advisor Long, Secretary Goins, Secretary Seitz, and Secretary Owens delivered a summary of their respective reports. Secretary Owens also presented to the Senate during their report about a new utility, CODA, to assist in the sharing of helpful information between SGA members.

Treasurer Bare, Secretary Westbrook, Vice President Simpson, and President Hewitt delivered a summary of their respective reports.

All reports were placed on file by Secretary Westbrook.

As there were no unfinished business or general orders to consider, the Senate considered the confirmation of nominees Presley Elliott, Zoya Kopesky, Michael Sollman, Seth Friddle, Isaac Leavy, and Madalynn Pendergrass, to their respective Senate seats. Sen. Dye moved that the Senate confirm the nominees as a slate, which was adopted. After a period of discussion, the nominees were confirmed with a vote of 30 members voting aye, 0 members voting no, and 0 members abstaining.

Seeing as there were no items of new business remaining, Speaker Simpson opened the floor for announcements. President Hewitt, Attorney General Tidwell, Senator Stevens, and Senator Moore all made announcements.

In accordance with the orders of the day, Speaker Simpson declared the meeting adjourned at 9:44 PM until Monday, March 10th, 2025.

Respectfully submitted,

Braxton S. Westbrook Secretary, Student Government Association

Appendix A The Agenda

The SGA Senate

Spring 2025 Session

7:30 PM on Monday, February 24th, 2025, in the RUC Multipurpose Room

REMINDER: Headshots are occurring before Senate. Check Cheyenne's message in Teams -> General.

- I. Pledge of Allegiance
- II. Moment of Silence
- III. Roll Call
- IV. Reading and Approval of the Previous Minutes dated Jan 27, 2025
- V. Adoption of the Agenda
- VI. S.O.L.O. Applications
 - a. Student Members of the American Chemical Society (SMACS)
- VII. Guest Speakers
 - a. Dr. Mustafa Rajabali, Associate Professor of Physics, President of Faculty Senate
 - b. Ms. Claire Myers, Student Trustee, Tennessee Tech Board of Trustees
- VIII. Public Comment
 - IX. Reading of Reports
 - a. Standing Committees
 - b. Special Committees
 - c. University Committees
 - d. Executive Cabinet
 - e. Executive Council
 - X. Unfinished Business and General Orders
 - a. Confirmation of new Senators
 - i. Presley Elliott, College of Arts & Sciences
 - ii. Zoya Kopesky, College of Engineering
 - iii. Michael Sollman, College of Engineering
 - iv. Seth Friddle, College of Engineering
 - v. Isaac Leavy, Transfer Senate
 - vi. Madalynn Pendergrass, Transfer Senate
 - b. Confirmation of new Supreme Court Justices
 - i. Cheyenne McAffee
 - c. Swearing-in of new Senators
 - XI. New Business
 - a. Bills and Resolutions
 - b. Other Such Matters
- XII. Announcements
- XIII. Adjournment